North Dakota joins list of states banning trans treatments for minors

Governor Doug Burgum enacted the law to ban these treatments and penalize physicians who engage in them.

North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum signed into law a bill banning gender transition treatments and surgeries on minors. Physicians who engage in these practices will be charged with a felony.

In February, the state House of Representatives supported a bill to ban sex change treatments for minors. Subsequently, the North Dakota Senate passed the bill before it was ultimately signed by Burgum.

North Dakota joins the long list of states that enacted the same law. These include Iowa, Georgia, Tennessee, South Dakota, Mississippi and Utah.

A few days ago, Burgum signed a law to ban the participation of trans athletes in female sports competitions in elementary and high schools and universities.