Spain, Portugal and Morocco to host the 2030 World Cup

FIFA has awarded the tournament to this joint bid. Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay will host the inaugural games as a tribute to the 1930 World Cup.

The International Association Football Federation (FIFA) has selected the joint bid of Spain, Portugal and Morocco to host the 2030 World Cup. It has not yet been made official, but several media outlets such as Spanish newspaper Marca have already reported the news.

However, before the top soccer tournament for national teams moves to the three host countries, the inaugural games will be played in Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay. This decision is a tribute to the inaugural World Cup that was held a hundred years prior in Uruguay in 1930. It was confirmed by South American Soccer Confederation (CONMEBOL) President Alejandro Domínguez:

We believed in Big. The 2030 Centennial World Cup begins where it all began. Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay will host the opening matches of the Centennial World Cup!

It will be the second time that Spain hosts the World Cup. It did so in 1982, though in that edition it was the only host country. Portugal will host the event for the first time, as with Morocco.

Before the 2030 edition, the 2026 World Cup will be held in the United States, Mexico and Canada. In May, the official logo was unveiled.