Biden imposes more than 500 sanctions against Russia after the death of Alexei Navalny

The new measure is directed against people involved with Navalny’s imprisonment and collaborators with Putin's government.

The Biden administration announced new sanctions against Russia after the death of Alexei Navalny, coinciding with the second anniversary of the beginning of the Russian invasion of Ukraine. This decision includes more than 500 penalties against people related to the death of the opposition leader and Vladimir Putin’s collaborators.

"Today, I am announcing more than 500 new sanctions against Russia for its ongoing war of conquest on Ukraine and for the death of Aleksey Navalny, who was a courageous anti-corruption activist and Putin’s fiercest opposition leader," Joe Biden wrote in a statement. "These sanctions will target individuals connected to Navalny’s imprisonment as well as Russia’s financial sector, defense industrial base, procurement networks and sanctions evaders across multiple continents. They will ensure Putin pays an even steeper price for his aggression abroad and repression at home."

The sanctions will also affect 100 entities that collaborate with Putin's government to continue carrying out attacks against Ukraine, as the president noted:

We are also imposing new export restrictions on nearly 100 entities for providing backdoor support for Russia’s war machine. We are taking action to further reduce Russia’s energy revenues. And I’ve directed my team to strengthen support for civil society, independent media, and those who fight for democracy around the world.

Biden already warned that he was considering applying new sanctions against Moscow after blaming Putin's government for Navalny's death.