Voz media US Voz.us

Patrick Mahomes wins his second NFL MVP

The quarterback of the Kansas City Chiefs wins the prestigious award two days before playing in Super Bowl LVII.

El quarterback de los Kansas City Chiefs Patrick Mahomes (15) durante un partido entre los Kansas City Chiefs y los Houston Texans en Houston, TX (foto de archivo).

Patrick Mahomes / Cordon Press

Published by

Kansas City Chiefs starting quarterback Patrick Mahomes received the season's Most Valuable Player (MVP) award. During the NFL Honors, the league's annual awards gala), the NFL recognized Mahomes, who lead the league in both passing yards (5,250) and passing touchdowns (42) to go with an efficient 67.1% completion percentage.

It is Mahomes' second MVP. The Chiefs' star was unable to attend to collect his award, but he gave thanks for the recognition in a video that was broadcast live at the gala.

With this award, Patrick Mahomes joins the select club of players who have won two or more NFL MVPs. The list includes Peyton Manning, Aaron Rodgers, Tom Brady, Brett Favre, Johnny Unitas, Kurt Warner, Steve Young and Joe Montana.

Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning #18 makes a pass during the game on Sunday, Dec. 26, 2010, at the Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum in Oakland, California (file photo).

This Sunday, Patrick Mahomes and his Chiefs will face the Philadelphia Eagles in Super Bowl LVII, which will be played at State Farm Stadium in Glendale, Ariz.

Other award winners

Mahomes wasn't the only one honored tonight at the NFL Honors gala. Below is the complete list of award winners for the 2022-2023 NFL season:

- Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Jefferson (Minnesota Vikings).

- Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Bosa (San Francisco 49ers).

- Offensive Rookie of the Year: Garrett Wilson (New York Jets).

- Defensive Rookie of the Year: Ahmad "Sauce" Gardner (New York Jets).

- Coach of the Year: Brian Daboll (New York Giants).

- Comeback Player of the Year: Geno Smith (Seattle Seahawks).

- Assistant of the Year: DeMeco Ryans (San Francisco 49ers).

- Most Valuable Player: Patrick Mahomes (Kansas City Chiefs).